Nominating Committee

Chairperson(s)
  • Jacqueline Spielman (jacqueline.x.spielman@kp.org)
  • Committee Members
  • Heather Joyce-Byers (hjoycebyers@mmcip.umm.edu)
  • Nancy Connelly (nconnelly@rcmd.com)
  • Description

    To foster qualified prospective nominees from the active membership of the organization for various elected positions of the organization including President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, Chairperson, Nominating Committee as well as the at-large positions on the Board.

    Education Committee

    Chairperson(s)
  • Adam Kelley (axk@gdldlaw.com)
  • Lisa McDonald (lmcdonald@mmcip.umm.edu)
  • Description

    To plan educational programs for all regular meetings of the organization and for the Annual Dinner Meeting to be held in conjunction with the last Board meeting of the year. Such meetings shall focus on issues of interest to the membership including: risk management, patient safety, and other health care-related topics.

    Bylaws Committee

    Chairperson(s)
  • Mary Alane Downs (madowns@downs-ward.com)
  • Description

    To periodically review and, if necessary and appropriate, propose revisions to the Bylaws of the organization to ensure consistency with the current practice and direction of the organization.

    Legislative and Regulatory Committee

    Chairperson(s)
  • Erika Alsid Short (eshort@crlmlaw.com)
  • Carolyn Stein (cstein@kiernantrebach.com)
  • Description

    To identify and inform the membership of proposed federal and Maryland state legislation, regulation, or practices that impact health care risk management and related areas such as insurance, patient safety, workers compensation, tort reform (including procedural as well as substantive issues).

    Communication Committee

    Chairperson(s)
  • Christina McCormick (cmccorm7@jhmi.edu)
  • Committee Members
  • Renee Cover (rcover1@jhmi.edu)
  • Debbie Glassman (dkramer1@jhmi.edu)
  • Matthew Somers (msomers@crlmlaw.com)
  • Sean Gugerty (sgugerty@gdldlaw.com)
  • Description

    To establish and maintain a process for ongoing communication with the organization membership. To continue to grow our Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and the main MD-DC SHRM web site.

    Finance Committee

    Chairperson(s)
  • Gregory Kirby (gkirby@pklaw.com)
  • Karen Twigg (ktwigg@coordinatingcenter.org)
  • Description

    The Finance Committee is tasked with overseeing and managing the financial affairs of the chapter, which includes proposing a budget, tracking chapter finances, overseeing and approving the reports created by the Treasurer, and updating the Board of Directors on such items, among other things.

    Sponsorship Committee

    Chairperson(s)
  • Stacy Meyer (smeyer@mmcip.umm.edu)
  • Description

    To actively solicit and recruit new sponsors and to retain current sponsors of the organization.

    Membership Committee

    Chairperson(s)
  • Mairi Maguire (mpmaguire@pklaw.com)
  • Margaret Garrett (mrobinsgarrett@yahoo.com)
  • Description

    To actively solicit and recruit new members and to retain current members of the organization.