Advancing the art of health care risk management by promoting the development of risk management and patient safety professionals in Maryland and the District of Columbia.

Through the generous support of our members and sponsors, this resource is made available to anyone who has an interest in the risk management opportunities and challenges that arise in the healthcare setting.

Please take a few minutes to become acquainted with our organization and our web site. This organization is an affiliated chapter of the American Society of Healthcare Risk Management. If you are a member, this site is designed to help you take the fullest advantage of your membership. If you are not currently a member, we hope that our site will help you learn more about our organization and our work, and hope that in doing so you will consider joining our organization.

Benefits of Membership

  • Opportunity to network, exchange ideas and learn new concepts in the area of risk management and patient safety
  • Learn about legislative and regulatory developments that effect Maryland and the District of Columbia
  • Attend educational programs designed to promote the development of risk management and patient safety

For membership information, contact Membership Committee Co-Chairs:

Meg Garrett ( or Mairi Pat Maguire (

To sponsor this organization, contact Sponsorship Committee Chair:

Stacy Meyer (

What's New

2021 President’s Message I am honored and grateful to serve as your MD-DC SHRM President for 2021 as we continue to adjust our sails to meet the needs of, and bring value to, our membership in the midst of a virtual world. Read More…

ASHRM turns 40! The American Society of Health Care Risk Management is celebrating 40 years of collaboration and leadership in health care risk management!

Job Openings

MD-DC SHRM posts local job openings, so check back often to see the latest information.

Board Members 2021

Gregory Kirby
Carolyn Stein
Deborah Garibay
Kaitlan Skrainar
Erika Alsid Short
Past President
Teri Leonovich
Director at Large
Karen Twigg
Director at Large
Nancy Connelly
Director at Large
Stacy Meyer
Director at Large
Jacqueline Spielman
Nominating Committee Chair

Special thanks to our MD-DC SHRM 2021 President’s Circle Sponsors